HOW PREGNANCY
CAN CHANGE YOUR
PERIOD

It’s one of the perks of pregnancy — no periods! At some point, though, your period will come back. But here’s a spoiler alert for you: There is no such thing as a standard postpartum period.

Just like the newborn phase, periods after pregnancy can be confusing. Many new moms are surprised to find that their period symptoms have changed.

Your period may be heavier or lighter, your cramps may be stronger or weaker and your cycle may be longer or shorter than it used to be. This sort of irregularity is normal for new moms. Over time, these symptoms improve for many women, but it may take up to a year for your period to regulate — especially if you are breastfeeding.

yellow animated calendar

What to Expect When You’re Expecting Your Period

There are a lot of reasons why periods can change after childbirth:
  • The uterus taking time to return to its normal size
  • Hormone levels shifting
  • Breastfeeding affecting hormone levels

If you’re not breastfeeding, you could see your period return as soon as five to six weeks after delivery. If you are breastfeeding, the timing is less clear. It might be six to eight weeks, several months, or a year or more.

For those who breastfeed, you likely won’t have a period while you’re breastfeeding. In order to produce breast milk, your body produces higher levels of the hormone prolactin, which can stop your body from making the hormones that control your periods.

yellow animated cycle icon

Postpartum Period

Typical periods arrive every 21-35 days, with bleeding lasting two to seven days. Especially in the months immediately after giving birth, it is common to have shorter, longer or irregular cycle lengths, so it could take your body some time to get back in this sort of rhythm.

Your first postpartum period will likely be different from how it was before. You may experience:

  • Irregular periods
  • Cramping
  • Heavier periods
  • Small blood clots in your periods
yellow and pink alert icon


Note that if you experience extremely heavy bleeding, pass any large clots, or find yourself in severe pain, contact your doctor immediately. You’re navigating a new normal, true, but these are warning signs that may indicate an infection and should not be ignored.

Help for Your Period Symptoms

Midol® can help relieve period symptoms like minor aches and pains, cramping, bloating and water weight gain. You have a new baby to care for, after all — you don’t have time for period symptoms to slow you down. Find the right Midol® product for you and check out our tips for feeling better. Be sure to talk to your doctor if you are pregnant or breastfeeding before using any Midol® products.

Sources:

Cleveland Clinic. (2019). Do Your Periods Change After Pregnancy? Retrieved June 2022, from https://health.clevelandclinic.org/do-your-periods-change-after-pregnancy/

National Health Service (NHS). (2021) When will my periods start again after pregnancy? NHS. Retrieved June 2022 from https://www.nhs.uk/common-health-questions/pregnancy/when-will-my-periods-start-again-after-pregnancy/

The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC). (2022). Pregnancy and Your Period. SOGC. Retrieved June 2022, from https://www.yourperiod.ca/normal-periods/pregnancy-and-your-period/

CHANGEMENTS DES
RÈGLES APRÈS UNE
GROSSESSE

C’est l’un des avantages de la grossesse : pas de règles! Cependant, au bout d’un certain temps, vos règles reviendront. Toutefois, il n’existe pas de période post-partum classique.

Tout comme la phase de la naissance, les règles après la grossesse peuvent être déroutantes. De nombreuses nouvelles mamans sont surprises de constater que les symptômes de leurs règles ont changé.

Vos règles peuvent être plus abondantes ou plus légères, vos crampes peuvent être plus intenses ou plus faibles, et votre cycle peut être plus long ou plus court qu’auparavant. Ce genre d’irrégularité est normal pour les nouvelles mamans. Avec le temps, ces symptômes s’atténuent pour de nombreuses femmes, mais il peut falloir jusqu’à un an pour que vos règles se stabilisent, surtout si vous allaitez.

yellow animated calendar

À quoi faut-il s’attendre lorsque l’on attend ses règles?

Il y a beaucoup de raisons pour lesquelles les règles peuvent changer après un accouchement :
  • l’utérus prend du temps pour retrouver sa taille normale;
  • les concentrations d’hormones changent;
  • l’allaitement influe sur les concentrations d’hormones.

Si vous n’allaitez pas, vos règles pourraient revenir dès cinq à six semaines après l’accouchement. Si vous allaitez, le moment est moins précis. Cela peut prendre six à huit semaines, plusieurs mois, ou un an ou plus.

Celles qui allaitent n’auront probablement pas de règles pendant la période d’allaitement. Pour donner du lait maternel, votre corps produit des concentrations plus élevées de l’hormone prolactine, ce qui peut empêcher votre corps de sécréter les hormones qui contrôlent vos règles.

yellow animated cycle icon

Période post-partum

Les règles arrivent généralement tous les 21 à 35 jours, et les saignements durent de 2 à 7 jours. Dans les mois qui suivent immédiatement l’accouchement, il est courant d’avoir des cycles plus courts, plus longs ou irréguliers. Il peut donc falloir un certain temps à votre corps pour retrouver son rythme.

Vos premières règles post-partum seront probablement différentes de vos règles précédentes. Vous pourriez avoir :

  • des règles irrégulières;
  • des crampes;
  • des règles plus abondantes;
  • des petits caillots de sang dans vos règles.
yellow and pink alert icon


Attention, si vous avez des saignements extrêmement abondants, si vous éliminez de gros caillots ou si vous ressentez des douleurs intenses, contactez immédiatement votre médecin. Vous évoluez dans une nouvelle normalité, c’est vrai, mais ce sont des signes d’alerte qui peuvent indiquer une infection et qui ne doivent pas être ignorés.

De l’aide pour soulager les nouveaux symptômes menstruels

Midol® peut aider à soulager les symptômes menstruels tels que les douleurs mineures, les crampes, les ballonnements et le gain de poids par rétention d’eau. Après tout, vous avez un nouveau-né dont vous devez vous occuper. Vous n’avez pas le temps de laisser les symptômes menstruels vous ralentir. Trouvez le produit Midol® qui vous convient et consultez nos conseils pour vous sentir mieux. Si vous êtes enceinte ou si vous allaitez, consultez votre médecin avant d’utiliser un produit Midol®.

Sources :

Cleveland Clinic. (2019). Do Your Periods Change After Pregnancy? Consulté en juin 2022 : https://health.clevelandclinic.org/do-your-periods-change-after-pregnancy/

National Health Service (NHS). (2021) When will my periods start again after pregnancy? NHS. Consulté en juin 2022 : https://www.nhs.uk/common-health-questions/pregnancy/when-will-my-periods-start-again-after-pregnancy/

La Société des obstétriciens et gynécologue du Canada (2022). Menstruations après la grossesse SOGC. Consulté en juin 2022 : https://www.yourperiod.ca/fr/normal-periods/pregnancy-and-your-period/