HOW TO ADDRESS
PERIOD PAIN

Adapted from content prepared by Pandia Healthcare, a Bayer Partner

The period pain that often happens with an individual’s menstrual cycle can be debilitating, so much so that it may begin to stop you from your daily tasks. Thankfully, it doesn’t have to be this way forever. There are many methods and products that you can use to relieve period cramps.

What Are Menstrual Cramps?

Menstrual cramps are pains that typically occur in the lower abdomen around the time of their period. For most uteri-bearing people, the pain begins one to three days before the start of an individual’s period, peaks 24 hours after bleeding starts, and stops two to three days after bleeding stops. The pain is usually mild, but for some, the pain can be so severe that it interferes with normal activities for several days in a month. Menstrual cramps are highly prevalent and are commonly untreated.

Cramps occur as a result of prostaglandins, hormone-like substances that cause muscle contractions in the uterus, eventually resulting in a shedding of the lining. When prostaglandin levels increase, cramps may be more severe. Doctors call this dysmenorrhea, which can be either primary or secondary dysmenorrhea. Primary dysmenorrhea is a pain in the uterus that happens before or during your period. Secondary dysmenorrhea is typically caused by a disorder in the reproductive system, and it involves severe pain that lasts a longer stretch of time. If you are experiencing severe menstrual pain, unusual pain or pain outside of your menstrual cycle, please see your doctor.

Box of Midol on a desk between two flowers

Ways to Relieve Menstrual Cramps

Over-the-Counter Medications

Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) can help relieve period pain. NSAIDs are effective pain relievers but like all drugs, they may not be right for everyone. Other pain relievers such as acetaminophen can also be used. Please always read and follow directions on the label before taking any medication and speak to your doctor if you have any questions.

Heat Therapy

An at-home remedy for easing cramps is the application of heat via a patch, wrap, electric heating pad, hot water bottle or having a soak in a warm bath. This can relax the tensed muscle wall of your uterus and boost circulation. Additionally, the soothing effect of heat can be beneficial for curbing other period symptoms such as body aches. Heat patches and electric heating pads can be found at pharmacies and other retailers.

Exercise

Regular exercise can help reduce or even prevent menstrual pain. Regular exercise releases serotonin and endorphins that act as “happy” hormones. These hormones can help off-set menstrual cramping, pain, and mood disturbance. Serotonin and endorphins released during regular exercise can lessen period pain.

What's the Takeaway

Menstrual pain is no joke! Thankfully, experiencing unpleasant symptoms during your period does not have to be. Don’t just grin and bear it. Treat your period pain! You deserve to feel empowered to take charge of your body.
Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only and is NOT a substitute for professional medical advice. Always seek the advice of your doctor/primary care provider before starting or changing treatment.

How can Midol® help?

Midol® has a selection of products, including Maxidol® Liquid Gels for fast period pain relief. Midol® Complete and Midol® PMS are also options that can be used to relieve cramps in addition to other period-related symptoms like bloating and swelling. Midol® can be purchased over-the-counter from pharmacies, grocery stores and other retailers throughout Canada.
While Midol® can be highly effective on its own for period pain relief, additional self-care techniques may help you feel even better. Incorporating exercise, a nutritious diet, hydration, and plenty of rest into your daily routine can be extremely beneficial. You can even try mindfulness activities such as meditation and yoga to relieve stress associated with your period.

Sources:

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). (2022). Dysmenorrhea: Painful Periods. Retrieved June 2022, from https://www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/dysmenorrhea-painful-periods

The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC). (2017). No. 345-Primary Dysmenorrhea Consensus Guideline. J Obstet Gynaecol Can. 39(7):585-595.

Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only and is NOT a substitute for professional medical advice. Always seek the advice of your health care professional before starting or changing treatment.

COMMENT TRAITER
LA DOULEUR LIÉE
AUX RÈGLES

D’après le contenu préparé par Pandia Healthcare, un partenaire de Bayer

Les douleurs menstruelles qui accompagnent souvent le cycle menstruel d’une personne peuvent être débilitantes, si bien qu’elles peuvent même entraver les tâches quotidiennes. Heureusement, il n’est pas nécessaire qu’il en soit toujours ainsi. Il existe de nombreuses méthodes et produits que vous pouvez utiliser pour soulager les crampes menstruelles.

Que sont les crampes menstruelles?

Les crampes menstruelles sont une forme de douleur qui se manifeste généralement dans le bas-ventre au moment des règles. Pour la plupart des femmes ayant un utérus, la douleur commence un à trois jours avant le début des règles, est à son maximum 24 heures après le début des saignements et s’arrête deux à trois jours après l’arrêt des saignements. La douleur est généralement légère, mais pour certaines personnes, elle peut être si intense qu’elle entrave les activités normales pendant plusieurs jours chaque mois. Les crampes menstruelles sont très fréquentes et ne sont généralement pas traitées.

Les crampes sont causées par des prostaglandines, des substances semblables à des hormones qui provoquent des contractions musculaires dans l’utérus, entraînant finalement une perte de la muqueuse. Les crampes peuvent être plus intenses lorsque la concentration des prostaglandines augmente. Les médecins appellent cela la dysménorrhée, qui peut être primaire ou secondaire. La dysménorrhée primaire se caractérise par une douleur dans l’utérus qui survient avant ou pendant les règles. La dysménorrhée secondaire est généralement causée par un trouble de l’appareil reproducteur, et elle entraîne une douleur intense qui dure plus longtemps. Si vous ressentez des douleurs menstruelles intenses, des douleurs inhabituelles ou des douleurs en dehors de votre cycle menstruel, veuillez consulter votre médecin.

Box of Midol on a desk between two flowers

Moyens de soulager les crampes menstruelles

Médicaments en vente libre

Les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS) aident à soulager les douleurs menstruelles. Les AINS sont des analgésiques efficaces, mais, comme pour les autres médicaments, ils ne conviennent pas forcément à tout le monde. D’autres analgésiques, comme l’acétaminophène, peuvent également être utilisés. Veuillez toujours lire et suivre les instructions figurant sur l’étiquette avant de prendre un médicament et consultez votre médecin si vous avez des questions.

Traitement par la chaleur

Un remède à domicile pour soulager les crampes est l’application de chaleur au moyen d’un timbre, d'une enveloppe, d'un coussin chauffant électrique, d'une bouillotte ou d'un bain chaud. Cela peut détendre la paroi musculaire de votre utérus et stimuler la circulation. En outre, l’effet apaisant de la chaleur peut être favorable à l’atténuation d’autres symptômes liés aux règles, comme les courbatures. Vous trouverez des timbres thermiques et des coussins chauffants électriques dans les pharmacies et chez d’autres détaillants.

Activité physique

L’activité physique régulière peut contribuer à réduire, voire prévenir, les douleurs menstruelles. L’activité physique quotidienne libère de la sérotonine et des endorphines qui agissent comme des hormones « de bonheur ». Ces hormones peuvent aider à atténuer les crampes menstruelles, les douleurs et les troubles de l’humeur. La sérotonine et les endorphines libérées lors de l’activité physique régulière peuvent atténuer les douleurs des règles.

Quelles sont les conclusions?

Les douleurs menstruelles ne sont pas une partie de plaisir! Heureusement, il n’est pas nécessaire d’éprouver des symptômes désagréables pendant vos règles. Ne vous contentez pas de grimacer et de souffrir. Traitez vos douleurs menstruelles! Vous méritez de prendre soin de votre corps.
Avis de non-responsabilité : Les renseignements ci-dessus sont fournis à titre d’information générale uniquement et ne remplacent PAS un avis médical professionnel. Demandez toujours l’avis de votre médecin ou fournisseur de soins primaires avant de commencer ou de modifier un traitement.

Comment Midol® peut-il aider?

Midol® propose divers produits, dont MAXIDOL® en gélules liquides pour soulager rapidement les douleurs menstruelles. Midol® Complet et Midol® SPM sont également des options qui peuvent être utilisées pour soulager les crampes en plus d’autres symptômes liés aux règles comme les ballonnements et les gonflements. Midol® peut être acheté en vente libre dans les pharmacies, les épiceries et autres détaillants partout au Canada.
Bien que Midol® puisse être très efficace à lui seul pour soulager les douleurs menstruelles, des techniques de soin personnel supplémentaires peuvent vous aider à vous sentir encore mieux. Il peut être extrêmement efficace d’incorporer de l’exercice, une alimentation nutritive, une bonne hydratation et beaucoup de repos dans votre routine quotidienne. Vous pouvez même essayer des activités de pleine conscience comme la méditation et le yoga pour soulager le stress associé aux règles.

Sources :

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). (2022). Dysmenorrhea: Painful Periods. Consulté en juin2022 : https://www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/dysmenorrhea-painful-periods

La Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC). 2017. No 345-Primary Dysmenorrhea Consensus Guideline. J Obstet Gynaecol Can. 39(7): 585–595.

Avis de non-responsabilité : Les renseignements ci-dessus sont fournis à titre d’information générale uniquement et ne remplacent PAS un avis médical professionnel. Demandez toujours l’avis de votre professionnel de la santé avant de commencer ou de modifier un traitement.